Words are good for you!

Parapraxis
Noun: A slip of the tongue (or pen) that reveals the unconscious mind.
Feels Freudian... =)

I've been reading Frankenstein for some time now, I can't through it. In many ways, I don't understand the book, and I can't finish it. I don't have time and I don't find the book that interesting either. I've cirkled words I don't understand in the book, and found out that many words are very Old English. I should, by now, know O.E since I've read Shakespear, Austen and Bronte... I've also studied History of English, but there are many words I still don't understand. But it's for me to find out, right?!

Some words from the 19th Century's classic:
Abode
ameliorate
recital
poignant
paroxysm
inexorable
dirge
festering
callous
mien
vacillating
...
Either I don't know the words, or I can't describe them for my pupils which I must need to know. How else could I become a good teacher? If you know the words, please tell me! And if you've read the book we could have a book discussion.

Love

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anna

kollat orden på http://lexin.nada.kth.se/sve-eng.html ? ^^



Du har aldrig vägarna förbi sthlm? ;)



Kram Anna

2008-07-26 @ 22:49:13
URL: http://kaffeknarkare.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0